Naughty By Nurture

That moment you realize…she gets it from her momma.

My kid’s a little naughty…and I love it.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t let her get away with everything. Once in a while, though, you have to smile behind your hand at the nonsense. I see myself in those moments more than any others. It’s not intentional misbehavior. She isn’t harming herself or others. It’s just… that little sneaky thrill you get from being mildly naughty. I get it…I totally get it.

I was a naughty kid myself. I may or may not still have my moments.

I think a little naughtiness is a sign of creativity and eccentricity. I love seeing her mind at work, even when it’s due to a brilliant little idea like hiding a rubber cockroach on the cupboard door (been there), or putting makeup on the dog (done that), or setting up a life-size stuffed cheetah next to my bed so it’s the first thing I see when I wake up. (Oh, I definitely lost about 5 years of my life to that one.)

So the next time your kid’s a little naughty? Do yourself a favor… laugh a little, they probably got it from you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

